Age 0-3

I Is for Immigrants, Selina Alko *New*
Alphabet picture book weaves together a multitude of immigrant experiences in a concise, joyful package. What do African dance, samosas, and Japanese gardens have in common? They are all gifts the United States received from immigrants.
 

Ten Little Fingers and Ten Little Toes, Mem Fox and Helen Oxenbury

A charming picture book about babies from around the world and what they all have in common.

 

Who? A celebration of babies, Robie H. Harris

A board book for young babies. Who? explores the relationships babies form with the people and things they love the most. 

 

Everywhere babies, Susan Meyers

This gorgeous board book follows all sorts of babies – 'small babies, tall babies, winter and spring babies' – over the course of a year. Read along as they are cuddled and carried, make friends and learn to crawl or walk. It's a true celebration of babies and the joy and giggles they bring.

People Who Help Us series, Amanda Askew and Andrew Crowson

The People Who Help Us board book series introduces children to the important jobs that our carers and key workers do.  Whilst not strictly about race, this board book series shows people from a range of ethnicities working alongside each other and performing all kinds of roles in helping others.  

All Are Welcome, Alexandra Penfold

Follow a group of children through a day in their school, where everyone is welcome. A school where children in patkas, hijabs, baseball caps and yarmulkes play side by side. A school where students grow and learn from each other's traditions. A school where diversity is a strength. Warm and inspiring, All Are Welcome lets young children know that no matter what, they have a place, they have a space, and they are welcome in their school. 

 

Miles and Mia A to Z, Michaela Alexander

An educational, diverse picture book that teaches children different letters of the alphabet in a fun way.

The Smeds and The Smoos, Julia Donaldson 

The Smeds (who are red) never mix with the Smoos (who are blue). So when a young Smed and Smoo fall in love, their families strongly disapprove. But peace is restored and love conquers all in this happiest of love stories. There’s even a gorgeous purple baby to celebrate!

Have you seen Elephant? David Barrow

Elephant wants to play hide and seek. See if you can help the others find him--he's very good at hiding! This tale of absurdity is perfect for sharing with children who will love finding Elephant.  Race is not the focus of the book, however the setting for the story is a mixed race family, and the star is a brown boy.

 

Age 3-5

Sulwe, Lupita Nyong'o

It follows the story of a young girl who wishes for her dark skin to be lighter. The story is ultimately about colorism and learning to love oneself, no matter one's skin tone.

 

The Name Jar, Yangsook Choi

A beautifully told story that encourages children to be themselves and not be afraid or ashamed of their heritage and background.

 

Daddy, There’s a Noise Outside, Kenneth Braswell, Joe Dent, and Julie Anderson

We don't often take the time to discuss with our children how and why protest to injustice occurs. To adults it may seem that our children sit on the outside of social activities, when the truth is, they are very aware of the change in their environments.

 

Yokki and the Parno Gry, Richard O'Neill and Katharine Quarnby

One of a series of 3 books about Traveller lifestyles and cultures, aiming to dispel some of the negative stereotypes people have about Gypsy, Roma Traveller people.

Ossiri and the Bala Mengro, Richard O'Neill and Katharine Quarmby 

One of a series of 3 books about Traveller lifestyles and cultures, aiming to dispel some of the negative stereotypes people have about Gypsy, Roma Traveller people.

 

Polonius the Pit Pony by Richard O'Neill

One of a series of 3 books about Traveller lifestyles and cultures, aiming to dispel some of the negative stereotypes people have about Gypsy, Roma Traveller people.

 

Age 5-7

Who was? series, various

Each book features a story of an extraordinary individual, including many civil rights leaders. Our favourites include their stories of Martin Luther King, Jr, Gandhi, Nelson Mandela, Barack Obama, Ida B Wells, Harriet Tubman, and the Dalai Lama. 

 

What was the Holocaust?, Gail Herman

An educational series on world events.

 

Malcolm Little: The Boy Who Grew Up to Become Malcolm X, IIyasah Shabazz

Malcolm X grew to be one of America’s most influential figures. But first, he was a boy named Malcolm Little. Written by his daughter, this inspiring picture book biography celebrates a vision of freedom and justice.

 

Something Happened In Our Town: A Child’s Story about Racial Injustice, Marianne Celano, Marietta Collins, and Ann Hazzard

Something Happened in Our Town follows two families — one White, one Black — as they discuss a police shooting of a Black man in their community. The story aims to answer children's questions about such traumatic events, and to help children identify and counter racial injustice in their own lives.

 
 

Age 7-11

When Stars are Scattered, Victoria Jamieson and Omar Mohamed *New*
Heartbreak and hope exist together in this remarkable graphic novel about growing up in a refugee camp.

Martin's Big Words: The Life of Martin Luther King Jr., Doreen Rappaport

This picture book biography of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. brings his life and the profound nature of his message to young children through his own words.

 

New Kid, Jerry Craft

New Kid is a 2019 graphic novel by Jerry Craft. The novel tells the story of Jordan Banks who experiences culture shock when he enrolls at a private school. The book was the first graphic novel to be awarded the Newbery Medal.

We Rise, We Resist, We Raise Our Voice, edited by Wade Hudson and Cheryl Willis Hudson

Fifty of the foremost diverse children’s authors and illustrators–including Jason Reynolds, Jacqueline Woodson, and Kwame Alexander–share answers to the question, “In this divisive world, what shall we tell our children?” in this beautiful, full-color keepsake collection, published in partnership with Just Us Books.

Boy at the Back of the Class, Onjali Rauf

A child's perspective on the refugee crisis, highlighting the importance of friendship and kindness in a world that doesn't always make sense.
 

Age 11-14

Talking Turkeys, Benjamin Zephaniah *New*

An unconventional collection of straight-talking poems about heroes, revolutions, racism, love and animal rights, among other subjects, that will entice many new readers to poetry.

 

Noughts & Crosses, Malorie Blackman *New*

A speculative fiction series describing an alternative 21st-century Britain in which native African people had colonised the European people, rather than the other way around, with Africans having made Europeans their slaves.

A Good Kind of Trouble, Lisa Moore Ramé

From debut author Lisa Moore Ramée comes this funny and big-hearted debut middle grade novel about friendship, family, and standing up for what’s right, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas’s The Hate U Give and the novels of Renée Watson and Jason Reynolds.

 
 

Age 14-16

Coming soon!